Bangalore First a Celebration. Positive News, Facts & Achievements about Bengaluru, Kannadigas and all the People of Karnataka – here at Home and Overseas
  • scissors
    December 25th, 2011adminArts, Culture & Entertainment, Records, All

    Governor H.R. Bhardwaj and Karnataka Photo News (KPN) Editor Saggere Ramaswamy presenting the T.S. Satyan Memorial Lifetime Achievement award to Yagneshwara Acharya of Manga-lore at a function held at the Banquet Hall of Raj Bhavan here yesterday as renowned journalist T.J.S. George looks on. Picture right shows Nethra Raju of Mysore receiving the Best Professional Photography award from the Governor.

    Bangalore, Dec. 19 (OSR):

    The T.S. Satyan memorial awards for photojournalism was presented to six distinguished photographers by Governor H.R. Bhardwaj at the Banquet Hall of Raj Bhavan here yesterday.

    The award, named after late Tambrahalli Subramanya Satyanarayana Iyer (T.S. Satyan) — a Mysorean, who is considered the country’s foremost and one of the first photojournalists — is instituted by Karnataka Photo News (KPN) and

    The awards were presented on the 88th birthday of Satyan, which incidentally is the eighth anniversary of KPN.

    T.S. Satyan Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Yagneshwara Acharya ‘Yagna’ of Mangalore. The award comprised a cash prize of Rs. 10,000, a certificate and a plaque.

    Speaking on the occasion, Bhardwaj said that journalists must never give in to any kind of pressure and must be unbiased while reporting news. “I may not be the right person to say this, but journalism and journalists have to always ensure they do not bow to pressures,” he said.

    Quoting poet John Keats, Bhardwaj said, “A thing of beauty is a joy for ever. I always enjoy good reports and articles in the newspapers. I do not believe that Governors must not freely speak to the media. I am keen to speak on various social issues.”

    He further said that the doors of the Raj Bhavan will always be open for the honourable citizens and added, “the Raj Bhavan belongs to you. I am just a traveller.”

    Renowned journalist T.J.S. George, speaking as a guest of honour, remembered Satyan for his professional, clean and direct journalism, the qualities which he said, were lacking today.

    Editor of Prajavani Kannada newspaper K.N. Shantha Kumar, addressing the gathering, said that the legendary photographer T.S. Satyan still held a great deal of influence on the works of present day photographers. “Satyan’s works were a mixture of art and journalism and I feel photojournalism is the combination of the art in photography and discipline of journalism,” he said.

    “Technology has made it near impossible for any photographer to capture what can be called a ‘bad’ photograph but the basics of photography remain unchanged despite technological advancements,” he added.

    The other awardees are: Best Newspaper Photography – K. Gopinathan (Bangalore), Best Professional Photography – Nethra Raju (Mysore), Best Magazine Photography – Bhanu Prakash Chandra (Bangalore), Best Freelance Photography – Regret Iyer (Bangalore) and Best Online Photography: M S Gopal.

    These awards consisted of a cash prize of Rs. 5,000 each, a certificate and plaque.

    source: / General News / December 19th, 2011

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,